Giving and Removing Permissions in Outlook

If you have an Exchange mailbox you can give others different levels of permission to access your calendar or other items in Outlook. You can also view, remove, or change those permissions at any time. For specific information and instructions for calendar permissions, click here.

Give Permissions
Remove Permissions

Give Permissions

1. Navigate to the folder you wish to Share Permissions for and click the "Folder" tab.
    

2. Click "Folder Permissions" in the Properties group.

3. Select the settings you would like to give the person.
Write: grants permissions to allow them to create and edit
Read: grants permissions to allow them to read (view)
Delete items: allows them to delete their own items or "all" items
    

4. Once all the settings are granting the correct permissions you want, select "Add."

5. Search for the person/people you want to grant permissions to and select their name(s).
    

6. Select "Add ->" after each name.

7. Click "Ok."

8. Click "Apply" then "Ok."
              

Remove Permissions

1. Navigate to the folder you wish to Share Permissions for and click the "Folder" tab.
    

2. Click "Folder Permissions" in the Properties group.

3. Select the person from whom you'd like to remove permissions. 
    

4. Click "Remove", and click "Ok."
 
Rate this Article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Documentation Category: